I am Not a Cyclist. I am an Urbanite.

…no really, it is true. My blog has been dark lately – more on that later. For now I want to share this thought I have been mulling over for a week or so:

I am not a cyclist. I am an urbanite.

As kid biking was free entertainment.

As a teen cars meant freedom.

As a student my feet took me everywhere I needed to go.

As a traveler linking modes was key to mobility.

As a Copenhagenite bikes were just part of life.

As an adventurer bikes were exciting.

As an urbanite bikes are functional.

No, I am not a cyclist. I am an urbanite.

Now let’s ride bikes!

5 thoughts on “I am Not a Cyclist. I am an Urbanite.

  1. Pingback: Respectfully Sir, My Life Matters | Kevin Lugo

  2. Pingback: Wordplay: Language a New Focus of Bicycle Advocacy | Kevin Lugo

    • Dave,

      I am usually very skeptical of this kind of language issue, especially when it is about being politically correct. However, the more I engage people using this language the more I see its effectiveness when communicating with people on all sides of transportation issues. Give it a try sometime!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

